[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Bowker/Ulrichs Serials Librarianship Award

[Cross-posted to several lists. Please excuse any duplication.]

Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award

The ALCTS Serials Section is seeking nominations for the Bowker/Ulrich's
Serials Librarianship Award for 2002.  The award is presented by the
Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) Serials
Section of the American Library Association. It is sponsored by R.R.
Bowker, publisher of Ulrich's Periodicals Directory. The award consists of
a citation with a cash award of $1,500.  The winner will be honored during
the ALA Annual Conference 2002.

The Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award is presented annually in
recognition of an individual's distinguished contributions to serials
librarianship.  The contributions include, but are not limited to,
contributions made during the previous three years. The award may be
shared by two or more individuals when they have participated together in
the achievement for which the award is granted.


1. Nominees must have made an outstanding contribution to the field of
serials librarianship.

2. Nominees must have demonstrated leadership and achievement as evidenced
by one or more of the following:

� Participation in professional associations and/or library education
� Contributions to the body of serials literature and research
� Development of tools or methods to enhance access to or management of
� Other advances that have led to a better understanding of the field of
3. Employees of R.R. Bowker are not eligible

Submission Procedure:

Nominators are asked to submit a nomination package that includes the
following items:

1. Letter of nomination

2. Relevant biographical information (name, contact information,
position(s) held, place of employment, educational background, relevant
professional experience, professional activities, honors received, etc.)

3. No fewer than three, but no more than six, letters of support. These
letters will be used in evaluation and selection, so strong letters are
very important.

The package should be sent to Cindy Hepfer, Bowker Committee Chair for
2001/2002, at the address at the end of this message.

Past winners of the Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award are Deana
Astle, Linda K. Bartley, Marjorie E. Bloss, Ruth C. Carter, Jean S. Cook,
James P. Danky, Trisha L. Davis, Tina Feick, Peter Gellatly, Crystal
Graham, Charles A. Hamaker, Cindy Hepfer, Jean Hirons, John E. Merriman,
Ann L. Okerson, Regina Reynolds, and Marcia Tuttle.

The deadline for nomination submissions is December 1, 2001.

Cindy Hepfer
Chair, ALCTS Serials Section Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award
State University of New York at Buffalo Health Sciences Library
Abbott Hall
3435 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14214-3002
Phone: 716-829-3900 x124; Fax: 716-829-2211

For questions: E-mail: hslcindy@buffalo.edu