National Site License Initiatives


    • Council of Australian University Librarians (CAUL) sponsors an Electronic Information Resources Consortium (CEIRC), which negotiates and facilitates access to electronic resources for all 39 Australian universities, the 8 New Zealand universities and a group of 22 other organisations in Australia and New Zealand with interest in research resources (publicly-funded research organisations, government departments and higher education institutions.) See their eResources & Licence Management website.



    • Current licenses offered by SURF, the collaborative organization of Dutch higher education and research in the field of network services and ICT. Formerly, a Covenant was offered between Scientific and Professional Publishers of the Dutch Publishers Association and the cooperative body Innovation Scientific Information Supply.

    New Zealand

    • New Zealand‘s Electronic Purchasing in Collaboration (EPIC) initiative provides New Zealanders access to electronic resources (e-resources) through a consortium of member libraries.


    United Kingdom

    • Four licenses/five agencies: The six licenses on this site have been developed for four different types of licensee by consultant John Cox, and are intended to be a model for libraries, publishers, and vendors negotiating licenses.
    • NESLI is the UK National Electronic Site License Initiative. Helpful links include model licenses for librarians.

    United States


Last updated: March 19, 2016

Comments are closed.