[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Reminder: Bowker Award Deadline Approaching

(Please forgive multiple postings and feel free to forward to even more

Nominations are being sought for the Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship
Award for 2006. The Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award is
presented by the ALCTS (Association for Library Collections and Technical
Services) Serials Section of the American Library Association and is
sponsored by R.R. Bowker Company, publisher of Ulrich's International
Periodicals Directory. The award consists of a citation with a cash award
of $1,500. The winner will be honored during the ALA Annual Conference

The award is presented annually to an individual (librarian, publisher,
vendor, subscription agent, and others) in recognition of distinguished
contributions to the serials field, demonstrated by leadership in
serials-related activities through participation in professional
associations and/or library education programs, contributions to the body
of serials literature, research in the area of serials, development of
tools or methods to enhance access to or management of serials, or other
advances leading to a better understanding of the serials industry. The
award may be shared by two or more individuals who have participated in
the achievement for which it is granted. Employees of the Bowker Company
are not eligible to receive the award.

Past winners of the Bowker/Ulrich's Serials Librarianship Award include
Marcia Tuttle, Ruth C. Carter, James P. Danky, Marjorie E. Bloss, John E.
Merriman, Jean S. Cook, Deana L. Astle/Charles A. Hamaker, Linda K.
Bartley, Ann L. Okerson, Tina Feick, Peter Gellatly, Jean L. Hirons, Cindy
Hepfer, Crystal Graham, Regina Romano Reynolds, Trisha L. Davis, Eric
Lease Morgan, Frieda Rosenberg, Pamela Bluh, and Dan Tonkery.

A nomination packet should include: a letter of nomination, 3-5 letters of
support, the nominee's resume, and up to three examples of the nominee's
publications. Send nomination packets to the Chair of the Committee at the
address listed below.

Deadline for nomination submissions is December 1, 2005.

Marilyn Geller, MSLS
Chair, ALCTS Serials Section Bowker Award Jury
436 School Street
Belmont, MA 02478-3864
Email: marilyn.geller@configuredinfo.com
Phone: 617-484-7379