[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

OpenURL Standard Z39.88 - Approved

worth noting!

At 4:48 PM -0400 4/14/05, Pat Harris wrote:

Dear members,

You'll want to mark this day on your calendar:

The OpenURL standard, NISO Z39.88 - 2004 The OpenURL Framework for
Context-Sensitive Services, has been approved by the NISO Members and is
available now for free download from the NISO site:

ANSI approval is pending. In light of the importance of this standard to
the community we are making this near-final version available.

Congratulations, and thanks, to all the members of Committee AX for all
their hard work to craft and complete this standard.

* Eric F. Van de Velde, Chairperson of Committee AX (California Institute
of Technology)
* Ann Apps (MIMAS-Manchester Computing University of Manchester)
* Oren Beit-Arie (ExLibris USA, Inc.)
* Karim Boughida (Getty Research Institute)
* Karen Coyle (California Digital Library, University of California, retired)
* Todd Fegan (ProQuest Information and Learning)
* Tony Hammond (Nature Publishing)
* Eric Hellman (Openly Informatics, Inc.)
* Mike Hoover (ProQuest Information and Learning)
* Lou Knecht (National Library of Medicine)
* Larry Lannom [Corporation for National Research Initiatives (CNRI)]
* Clifford Morgan, NISO SDC Liaison to SC AX (John Wiley & Sons Ltd.)
* Mark H. Needleman (SIRSI Corporation)
* Eamonn Neylon (Manifest Solutions)
* Philip Norman (OCLC, Inc.)
* Oliver Pesch (EBSCO Information Services)
* Harry Samuels (Endeavor Information Systems, Inc.)
* Herbert Van de Sompel (Los Alamos National Laboratory)

Pat Harris
Executive Director
4733 Bethesda Avenue, Suite 300
Bethesda, MD 20814 USA
T: 301-654-2512 ** Direct line: 301-654-1474** Mobile: 202-258-3296
Fax: 301-654-1721 ** Email: pharris@niso.org